This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: Bug adding backslash at the end (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
SmiLie
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Posted: 10 May 2008 at 7:08pm  

Hi guys,

I was running old version 1.0 for a while, until we found an interesting bug today. That made us upgrade to 2.2 or whatever the latest version is, yet bug still present.

We are using schema that rewrites everything to "-", i.e. for instance URL
http://www.somesite.com/page.asp?param1=123
is rewritten into
http://www.somesite.com/page.asp-param1-123

Today we found that if you add a backslash to the end of the URL, or anything that contains a backslash - like this:
http://www.somesite.com/page.asp-param1-123/
or  http://www.somesite.com/page.asp-param1-123/otherpage.asp
the pages will go into an infinite loop.

A problem:
1) anyone with a bit of knowledge wanting to bring a site down can build a bunch of invalid URLs and keep requesting them
2) this is what we had - a badly written bot combined with our own bug - we have a lot of invalid URLs listed in a major SE. We got rid of most, but a few remain, and make this bot that WE REALLY NEED go nuts and not like us anymore.

Question of the day - how this can be fixed?

P.S. mozho po-russki
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 12 May 2008 at 9:34am  

Please send your LinkFreeze configuration and link to your web site privately to [email protected]

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
SmiLie
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Posted: 12 May 2008 at 11:19am  

Yaroslav,

It was a combination of Linkfreeze and bad logic on our end. But I will send you several scenarios anyway, because it is interesting.

Regards,
A l e x
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 13 May 2008 at 7:00am  

I already figured out how this could be happening. No actions from LinkFreeze side is required, in fact it is by design.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum