This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: linkfreeze adding whitespaces at end (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
ctrondev
Newbie


Joined: 21 September 2007
Posts: 2
Posted: 21 September 2007 at 1:17pm  

LinkFreeze is adding whitespaces at the end of the url that is making invalid html markup

example:

<a href="www.site.com/link.asp?a=0&b=1">link</a>

is coming out

<a href="www.site.com/link~a~0~b~1.htm     ">link</a>

I've tried the latest v77 and it still is the same

any way of fixing this?

Back to Top
 
Sergey
Admin Group


Joined: 11 March 2005
Posts: 750
Posted: 24 September 2007 at 5:29am  

Can I see problem on-line?

Or send html-otput (without enabled LinkFreeze) for this page to [email protected]
Back to Top
 
ctrondev
Newbie


Joined: 21 September 2007
Posts: 2
Posted: 24 September 2007 at 12:47pm  

I figured out the problem, it's the &amp; replacement that my validator
recommended changing the '&' to '&amp;' in a href and form links...
http://www.htmlhelp.com/tools/validator/problems.html#amp

that's what i get for following html validation
if I change it back to the &, the spaces go away.


Back to Top
 
cpetit
Newbie


Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: France
Posts: 5
Posted: 11 March 2008 at 11:23am  

Hello,

Does this problem still exists in the 2.2.0.80 release ?

We encounter it on a Windows 2003 SP2 / IIS 6 server, and valid HTML links should be correctly recognized.

Regards,

Back to Top Visit cpetit's Homepage
 
cpetit
Newbie


Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: France
Posts: 5
Posted: 11 March 2008 at 11:38am  

More info :

It seems to happen only if there is at least one UTF-8 URLencoded char in the link :

<a class="pageActive" href="Documentation~p~1~typeDoc~0~motCle~Par+mot+cl%c3%a9.aspx        ">1</a> does not work, leading to a 0x80070057 HttpException...

<a class="pageActive" href="Documentation~p~1~typeDoc~0~motCle~Par+mot+cle.aspx        ">1</a> does work.

Hope this helps...

Back to Top Visit cpetit's Homepage
 
Sergey
Admin Group


Joined: 11 March 2005
Posts: 750
Posted: 14 March 2008 at 5:46am  

Please describe your problem in more details:
In what browser does this problem occur?
Does the problem persist if you change ~ to - ?
Is it possible to see the problem online?
Back to Top
 
cpetit
Newbie


Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: France
Posts: 5
Posted: 14 March 2008 at 6:10am  

Hello,

In fact, there are 2 problems.

First, LinkFreeze does rewrite URLs with HTML encoded ampersands, but lefts spaces at end of URLs (seems to try not changing response length).

Second, on a specific 2003/SP2 server running LinkFreeze v2.2.0.74, we encounter 0x80070057 HttpException where rewrited URLs contain UTF-8 URL encoded chars. It occurs with IE7 and FF2, and I can't change ~ to - since it's a real production site.

I can't reproduce this behavior with the same site on another 2003/SP2 machine using LinkFreeze 2.1.0.63, nor or my XP/SP2 development machine with LinkFreeze v2.2.0.80.


Back to Top Visit cpetit's Homepage
 
Sergey
Admin Group


Joined: 11 March 2005
Posts: 750
Posted: 14 March 2008 at 8:19am  

LinkFreeze is not capable of changing the length of response, that's why it replaces & with spaces. It's not a mistake but a workaround.

Build 74 incorrectly works with UTF-8 characters. Please update to the latest build.
Back to Top
 
cpetit
Newbie


Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: France
Posts: 5
Posted: 14 March 2008 at 8:42am  

Sergey wrote:
LinkFreeze is not capable of changing the length of response, that's why it replaces & with spaces. It's not a mistake but a workaround.


OK.

Sergey wrote:
Build 74 incorrectly works with UTF-8 characters. Please update to the latest build.


OK, we will update on this production server.

Many thanks for your quick anwser !
Back to Top Visit cpetit's Homepage
 
cpetit
Newbie


Joined: 11 March 2008
Location: France
Posts: 5
Posted: 20 March 2008 at 1:17pm  

cpetit wrote:
OK, we will update on this production server.


The production server was updated successfully.

Have a nice day !
Back to Top Visit cpetit's Homepage
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum