This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: Strange behavior (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 19 June 2007 at 7:16pm  

I have my site set up with the option of .asp conversion to .htm.

I have some .html files that are processed as dynamic files in IIS. So for example, /article.html contains an ASP include of /article.asp. So the same way you can do /article.asp?1=1 you can also do /article.html?1=1.

Now, what is happening is like this: Suppose I have a URL like this: www.site.com/article.html?1=1, with Linkfreeze enabled the frozen URL would be: www.site.com/article.html/1/1. Fine. When it hits the server, the server logs show it as coming through as article.html?1=1, and the page loads correctly.

However, there are cases that the logs on the IIS server show a final request for /article.html/1/1 and of course that give a 404! Sometimes linkfreeze decides to interpret the query string, and sometimes not.

What is the application supposed to be doing?

What should I be doing? I thought to rewrite all article.html inbound links to article.htm. Would you recommend that?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 20 June 2007 at 4:46am  

We are working on a resolution.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 20 June 2007 at 10:14am  

Any ETA?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 20 June 2007 at 10:25am  

A similar issue:

Suppose I send this URL over to linkfreeze:

/templates/articlecco.asp/aid/382435

It will send the request as is to IIS, (I see this URL being logged in IIS: /templates/articlecco.asp/aid/382435)

It seems linkfreeze thinks it does not have to do anything to the URL since it already came in as .ASP?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 20 June 2007 at 11:31am  

Another similar situation:

Sending this URL to linkfreeze:

/templates/articlecco.htm?aid=382435

Will not issue a redirect to a frozen version, most probabely because linkfreeze asumes that it's frozen because of the .htm extention.
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 22 June 2007 at 7:23am  

Please download LinkFreeze build 72, it should fix this problem.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 22 June 2007 at 11:12am  

Thanks. Issues #1 & #3 have been fixed.

Issue #2 is still a problem. It sends you in a loop.
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 26 June 2007 at 8:46am  

Any updates?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 26 June 2007 at 9:08am  

Can you please explain what exactly you mean by "issue #2"?

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 26 June 2007 at 9:27am  

Suppose I send this URL over to linkfreeze:

/templates/articlecco.asp/aid/382435

It will send the request as is to IIS, (I see this URL being logged in IIS: /templates/articlecco.asp/aid/382435)

It seems linkfreeze thinks it does not have to do anything to the URL since it already came in as .ASP?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 28 June 2007 at 7:09am  

New build 74 should fix this issue.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 28 June 2007 at 12:10pm  

Thanks, this is now resolved.
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum