This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: LinkFreeze x64 (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 03 May 2007 at 8:30am  

Hello!
We've used LinkFreeze for our 32 bit platform for 3 years, and recently we've moved our site to a new server which is running on 64bit platform. We've downloaded a new 64bit version of a Link Freeze, but it seems to be that some of our pages are not working.
What is the best way to solve our problems?
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 04 May 2007 at 7:03am  

Only some of the pages not working? Can you please show the issue online?

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 04 May 2007 at 7:38am  

yes, when user is doing form submit, it seems to be that url is not overwritten. Right now we're disabled linkfreeze, but if you will look immediately, we can enable it for 1-2 hours. Is it ok for you?
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 04 May 2007 at 2:00pm  

It will be better if you show it in some test environment or test area of your web site. If it is not possible please show me the problematic page and link online, but without LinkFreeze enabled. I don't want you to do it on production server.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 5:02am  

Please go here: http://www.boatcouncil.com/
And just hit green "Find" button
A list with boats will appear.
1. There is no replaced characters in the URL string (We're using scheme which is replacing "?", "&", "=" with "/")
2. When you're trying to select next page, using links with digits at the pages - nothing happens, server 500 error is displayed.
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 6:50am  

As I can see you have already turned LinkFreeze off.
I have reviewed your web site and I would not suggest you to apply LinkFreeze there as is. Your URLs are too overloaded with unneeded parameters that you are probably hitting into a URLSegmentMaxLength limit.
For example o a boat_info.asp page only vessel= parameter is essential for page generation. All other parameters can be avoided. If you are considered about SEO you need to redesign your web site with SEO in mind and try to minimize number of parameters and avoid using technologies like AJAX, postbacks, Flash, etc.
LinkFreeze cannot help you here. If you provide me with your order ID I will refund your LinkFreeze license.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 7:05am  

Yes, we've turned LF off because, some of our services are not working.
Problem is that everything was working under old 32 bit version - and that was helpful to us.
We can turn LF for 1 day, so you can see it right now.
Please look at the same place.
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 9:07am  

Do you have any test environment where I can see the problem?
Have you tried to test your web site on a 64-bit platform before moving it to production? There could be a problem with IIS confgiuration and hundreds of different problems that may break the things.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 9:29am  

You can test it here:
Please go here: http://www.boatcouncil.com/
And just hit green "Find" button
A list with boats will appear.
1. There is no replaced characters in the URL string (We're using scheme which is replacing "?", "&", "=" with "/")
2. When you're trying to select next page, using links with digits at the pages - nothing happens, server 500 error is displayed.
Back to Top
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 9:40am  

This page for ex
http://www.boatcouncil.com/boat-info.asp/vessel/56672/Currency/7/mode/4/home_features/1

gives HTTP/1.1 500 Server Error
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 10:03am  

1. There will be no replaced characters in URL because this URL was not a link. You hit a button on a form, LinkFreeze is not changing form action fields because it will not get into SE index anyway. But if you want to see rewritten URLs anyway you can enable "Redirect old URL feature" under Advanced tab.

2. Try to avoid at least empty parameters from links. Such parameters does not change a page content but may lead to the errors if you are using "/" as a substitution character causing a structure like "//" to uppear in the link (which is incorrect directory format) and this could be refused by IIS server itself.
For example here I have removed all empty parameters from your link and it started to work:
http://www.boatcouncil.com/boats-search.asp/boats-filter_frm_auto/1/measure/0/currency/7/used/2/type/3/country/0/region/0/region/0/state/0/consumer_id/0/measure_d/0/mode/3/page/2/

Also I was unable to get 500 result from the link you have provided in the last post, it returns a normal page for me.
Check Application and System log for possible error messages.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 10:04am  

Do you have any other filters installed on your server, like URLScan, etc? Try to temporary disable these filters.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 07 May 2007 at 10:35am  

No we don't use another filters. Problem that everything was ok under 32. Problems started since 64-bit version of Link Freeze was installed and enabled. We've tried to replace "=" with "=", looks its working, but its kind of dumb solution, isn't it?
We don't want to change the code on our site just to make Link Freeze working, especially that it was working under 32-bit version.
The whole number of symbols in our querystring is below 500 symbols, which is 100% valid
Is there any another solutions to make Link Freeze working correctly?
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 08 May 2007 at 5:12am  

We have confirmed it is a problem with double slash characters in URL. These character secuence is now removed from URL causing parameters to mess. We will release new version of LinkFreeze that will be able to deal with this problem in a few days.
Meanwhile I suggest you to disable LinkFreeze on your web site not allowing SE to crawl pages with "=" symbols. This will be better solution that temporary enable LinkFreeze with a different rewrite settings.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 08 May 2007 at 11:08am  

This page gives 404 error
http://www.boatcouncil.com/boat-categories/motor-boats.htm
When LF is disabled - everything is ok
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 11 May 2007 at 7:39am  

Please download and try build 70 of LinkFreeze. It should fix your problem.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 11 May 2007 at 8:42am  

Sorry, but it didn't help us
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 14 May 2007 at 6:54am  

Sorry, we forgot about one more detail. Please download build 71 now.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
Damon
Newbie


Joined: 16 March 2005
Posts: 20
Posted: 15 May 2007 at 11:30am  

now its working, but this page
http://www.boatcouncil.com/boat-info.asp/vessel/47024/Currency/7/mode/4

is not.
Back to Top
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 16 May 2007 at 4:35am  

According to what I see LinkFreeze is currently disabled on your site and link http://www.boatcouncil.com/boat-info.asp/vessel/47024/Currency/7/mode/4 still returns 500 error. So I assume this is not an LinkFreeze error.
It still seems like you have URLScan installed on your server.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 

Page of 2 Next >>
 
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum