This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: Google Indexing (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
tmoney
Newbie


Joined: 08 March 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Posted: 08 March 2007 at 5:10pm  

Hey there,

I recently purchased linkfreeze for a new site I am building. I set it up so all aspx extensions were changed to html.

Now, I also submitted a sitemap to google, and when I look at the sitemap I can see all the pages end in html, which means the sitemap crawler i used picked up these pages as that.

However when I just logged into google webmaster tools, I noticed that there are several pages that google cannot find for this site, and some of these pages are ending in .aspx as shown in the webmaster tools.

What I would like to know is how does google know about the aspx extension? Isnt linkfreeze meant to change the extension before ther user / bots see it?

I am really just worried about these pages not being indexed and what I can do to fix it.

The domain is www.boatsplus.com.au - and one of the pages not being indexed for example is this one

http://www.boatsplus.com.au/dealers.aspx?area=nt&brand=SeaDoo&product=jetski

when you go to this url you will notice its looks static and ends with html, but again google is not seing it like this...


any help is appreciated.


Back to Top Visit tmoney's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 11 March 2007 at 8:06am  

Probably there is a page on your site that is issuing a redirect to this location. LinkFreeze does not modify locations in redirect instructions, so the link may remain dynamic.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
tmoney
Newbie


Joined: 08 March 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Posted: 11 March 2007 at 6:32pm  

ok, thanks for the response, although dont exactly understand what you are trying to say.

I really do want to fix this problem as soon as possible.

How can I find the page that may be doing this?

Thanks again.
Back to Top Visit tmoney's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 13 March 2007 at 4:17am  

Check your IIS log file for 301 and 302 response status records and check these pages.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
tmoney
Newbie


Joined: 08 March 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Posted: 13 March 2007 at 5:10am  

thanks again for the response.

What I have done for now is simply change all my old .aspx extension
lnks to .html extension links, I figured this would fix the problem for now.
So basically you wont be able to see first hand what i am explaining
below.

I did this because when i loaded the homepage, and hovered my mouse
over several links, i noticed that all pages which were in subfolders (eg
the actual product pages) displayed the html extension in the status bar,
however other links which pointed to categories displayed the .aspx link
in the status bar, even though when you clicked these links you are
always taken to the .html extension.

I figured this was somewhat my problem... Why were some links showing
to the .html extension in the status bar when being hovered over, while
others were showing the .aspx extension, again even though you were
always taken to a .html page when clicking on the link?

Is this a problem with the setup of the software? Any further help is much
appreciated.
Back to Top Visit tmoney's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 15 March 2007 at 6:08am  

Probably some links are in absolute format (http://www...) By default LinkFreeze does not change links in absolute format. Please show your LinkFreeze configuration file here.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
tmoney
Newbie


Joined: 08 March 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Posted: 15 March 2007 at 8:20am  

thank you.

that was my problem. thanks very much.


Can I just ask one other question... those navigation links need to be absolute because its a included file, so if its not absolute the links wont always work.

Now if I turn this option off in linkfreeze, it will fix my problem but what if i link to external sites? will this not work? how can i get around this?

thanks.
Back to Top Visit tmoney's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 17 March 2007 at 10:19am  

LinkFreeze should never rewrite external links. As for include files there is a root-relative link format which suits here better. This is when you start your link from a slash "/dir/page.htm".

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum