This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: Rewrite structure with all slashes (Topic Closed Topic Closed)
Author
Message |
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 23 November 2006 at 4:49pm  

Is there a way I can set the linkfreeze URL structure to all slashes, meaning ?,= and & all get replaced with slashes. I think that as far as search engines this seems to be the best way to contruct a URL.

So:

http://www.domain.com?page=1&number=2

Would be:

http://www.domain.com/page/1/number/2

I have the latest version of linkfreeze, btw.
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 24 November 2006 at 6:35am  

This is not really a best way. And you can do this but with lot of limitations. For example you may only do this if all pages with parameters are located in a root folder, unless LinkFreeze will be unable to determine where the page name and where the parameters. Also you will need to exclude real forlders with files from LinkFreeze processing using regular expression rules.
If you explain your site structure and desired result in more details I may suggest you a solution.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 24 November 2006 at 9:37am  

Well, then I would not be able to do that because I have folders on my site.

So, what would be the best syntax as far as search engines go? I am not so keen on tilde, and hyphens are used already in variables.
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 28 November 2006 at 4:15am  

Then you may either use tilde or use hyphens and remove it from variable names/values if possible.
You may also consider manually optimising your web site with using ISAPI_Rewrite. There are some advantages with this way but you will need to manualy change links, etc.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 
moishier
Groupie


Joined: 24 October 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 76
Posted: 30 November 2006 at 11:36am  

Actually I was able to use slashes if I disable the option to "Move file extention to end of URL".

Are there any other limitations to using slashes?
Back to Top Visit moishier's Homepage
 
Yaroslav
Admin Group


Joined: 15 August 2002
Posts: 6520
Posted: 04 December 2006 at 5:13am  

Only those noted in the documentation in "Substitution characters" chapter.

__________________
Yaroslav Govorunov,
Helicon Tech
Back to Top Visit Yaroslav's Homepage
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum