This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
ISAPI_Rewrite 2.x (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : ISAPI_Rewrite 2.x
Subject Topic: remove index.php in EE2 Isapi_rewrite
Author
Message |
360esoft
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Posted: 05 April 2011 at 8:59am

Hi,
I have version 2.x of Isapi_rewrite on my IIS server,
where I also have an ExpressionEngine 2.1.3 install.
I am trying to remove the index.php from the url, but I
can't find a way to do it properly, various things are
suggested on the EE forums but nothing actually works.
I have 2 folders for languages:
my url is: www.website.com/en/index.php/site
and www.website.com/fr/index.php/site
I want to have a clean url : www.website.com/en/site and
www.website.com/fr/site

Any suggestions?
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 5:33am

Please try to have the following rules:

[ISAPI_Rewrite]

RewriteRule /(en|fr)/index\.php/(.*) /$1/$2 [I,RP]
RewriteRule /(en|fr)/(?!index\.php)(.*) /$1/index.php/$2 [I,L]

Please note that you may have some issues with images/css if you have relative links on pages (so it's better to have root-relative or
absolute ones).



__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
360esoft
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 7:41am

It's not working. I am getting page cannot be found.
Which file do I have to put the code into: IIRF.ini, or
httpd.ini, or httpd.conf? I have seen so many different
answers on forums that I am mixed up.
Where should the file go? At the root, or a file in each
language folder?

thanks for your help!
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 8:27am

If you use ISAPI_Rewrite 2, the config must be httpd.ini.
You should place in the root of the site.
Please also specify the request you are making for testing.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
360esoft
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 8:39am

I am not sure it dos something.
Is there some line of code I can add to the httpd.ini file
so it creates a log, to see what it's actually doing?

I am accessing the website successfully at the
www.website.com/en/ or www.website.com/fr/ level. It
doesn't work when I click to go on a subpage, such as
www.website.com/en/product . I am running on
ExpressionEngine, so there is no actual "product" folder...
It's part of EE's templates inside the CMS.
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 8:59am

"when I click to go on a subpage, such as www.website.com/en/product"
- and should /en/product be resolved as /en/index.php/product ?
How should ISAPI_Rewrite know if the request must/mustn't be processed?
Please explain.

Unfortunately, logs are not available in ISAPI_Rewrite 2.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
360esoft
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Posted: 06 April 2011 at 9:09am

Anton wrote:
- and should /en/product be resolved as
/en/index.php/product ?
How should ISAPI_Rewrite know if the request must/mustn't
be processed?
Please explain.


Forgive me if I'm not clear enough, I'm totally clueless
about these kind of things as I'm not a developer or
anything.

If I type in the url /en/index.php/product, the page
shows up perfectly. But I am trying to obtain a clean
url, /en/product. What should be added so the config file
knows that?
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 07 April 2011 at 1:52am

Please try it like this:

[ISAPI_Rewrite]

RewriteRule /(en|fr)/(?!index\.php.*)([^/.]+) /$1/index.php/$2 [I,L]

If it doesn't work, please test if ISAPI_Rewrite is working by putting the following line at the top of the config:

RewriteRule /test.* http\://www.google.com [RP]

Then make request to www.yoursite.com/test. If you get 404 error, there's smth wrong, if you get Google page, ISAPI_Rewrite operates fine.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
360esoft
Newbie


Joined: 05 April 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Posted: 07 April 2011 at 7:59am

Apparently there's something wrong, because the Google test
didn't work, I am getting the 404 page.
I think I'm going to leave it for the moment, and
unfortunately the system analyst who takes care of servers
is out of the office today, so I can't even know what's
going on with the isapi install or EE.
Thanks for your help though, it's very appreciated :)
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 08 April 2011 at 2:24am

Ok, so if your system analyst doesn't manage to make ISAPI_Rewrite working toll Monday, I suggest that we arrange an online meeting or Remote
Desktop access to your server, so we could check it live.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum