This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

  Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  HelpHelp   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
LinkFreeze (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : LinkFreeze
Subject Topic: Nothing works
Author
Message |
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 3:53am

I have installed Linkfreeze, it shows Medium when checking the settings for ISAPI in IIS, but nothing works.  No change to any links on site.

Is there a step I am missing?

Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 5:07am

Could you please explain how you want it to work.
Please show what config you use. And how do you want your URLs to look like.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 9:26am

Website URL for reference:  http://www.pricenation.com

Here is a URL to the New/Featured category:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=12

If I set it up correctly, it should look like this:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category/catid=12.html

Or, even better:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category/catid/12.html

Here are 2 pics of server settings:

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 9:47am

OK, I have new issue.  Seems the new URLs will work when typed in the command bar.  But the webpage links have not "converted".

Am I wrong, or is the LinkFreeze system supposed to scan the webpages and change the links on them also to reflect the new URL schema?

Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 10:00am

Ok, so the config on the screenshot is expected to convert http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=12 into
http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category/catid/12.html but it doesn't, right?

I guess that's because "/" is not the best replacement character as after the link is frozen LinkFreeze can't distinguish directory separators
and replacement characters. Please consider using "-" or "~" character.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 10:01am

"is the LinkFreeze system supposed to scan the webpages and change the links on them also to reflect the new URL schema?" - yes, you are
correct.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 10:13am

OK, almost got it working now.

Just that all my image links broke :)

I will see if I can tweek this a bit.

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 10:48am

OK, almost got this fixed.  And let me say that LinkFreeze, if we can adjust it just a tad, will save me a month of progamming!  WOW!  My next project I am picking up a copy of the ISAPI-rewrite from you.  Great job with these filters!

Ok, here is the situation:  The website has a combination of absolute URLS (http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=12) and relative URLS (src="/img/button.gif" and src="../images/LB-31122.jpg").

I have turned on the Advanced function to transform absolute links, which fixed most of the issues.  But here is the one I can't seem to correct:

Image files with relative URLS sch as src="../images/LB-31122.jpg" should be converted on the client to src=http://www.pricenation.com/images/LB-31122.jpg.  They are being called from the source file of http://www.pricenation.com/shop/.  These URLS get translated to http://www.pricenation.com/shop/images/LB-31122.jpg if I try to substitute the "?" with a "/".  If I just leave the "?" alone and LinkFreeze is still enabled, everything works.

Weird that leaving LinkFreeze on will not cause the issue, just the substitution of the "?" with "/".  You would think that LinkFreeze would not do this from a logic standpoint.

Any suggestions?

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 11:03am

Wow.  Just looked at the source file.  Both ways, the source is unchanged.

../images/LB-11410.jpg is untouched either way.

It is almost like the browser thinks the root has changed, from http://www.pricenation.com/shop to http://www.pricenation.com/shop/shop so the url becomes http://www.pricenation.com/shop/images/LB-11410.jpg instead of http://www.pricenation.com/images/LB-11410.jpg.

Hope this info helps.

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 11:06am

Just shoot me...

Broken images if directory separator used for substitution

You are using a directory separator '/' as any of the substitution characters. This changes document base and all document relative links become invalid. Possible solutions:

  1. Do not use directory separator as a substitution character
  2. Change all document relative links ( src="images/somefile.gif" ) into root relative form ( src="/images/somefile.gif" ).
  3. Use <BASE> HTML tag to explicitly specify document base for document relative links.

I need to read first I guess.  I still have not fixed the issue, but I will start here and see what I can do.

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 11:32am

Success!

OK, now the long day of testing everything.  Thanks to all of you!

Expect my purchase tomorrow.  I am still on the 45 day test.  Just amazing.  Great coding!

Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 17 February 2010 at 11:50am

Ok, looks like 95% works.  One last issue:

We have links to various pages (a search function) that show up like this without LinkFreeze:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=2&page=2&sortby=

With LinkFreeze on, they show up like this:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category_catid-2.html?catid=2&page=2&sortby=

We have "? > _" , "& > ~" , "= > "- .  Move extansion to end, and replace aspx with html.

Am I doing something wrong again?  Can't figure this one out.

Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 18 February 2010 at 4:38am

So, the link is frozen partially, not completely, right?
Does this happen for this type of URLs only?

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 18 February 2010 at 6:47am

I found the probelm, but do not know of a way to fix it easily.

The oriiginal program package I use encoded the links for the menu system this way:

<a href="?catid=2&page=1&sortby=">1</a>

<a href="?catid=2&page=2&sortby=">2</a>

<a href="?catid=2&page=3&sortby=">3</a>

Which gives the URL when clicked on this:

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=2&page=1&sortby=

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=2&page=2&sortby=

http://www.pricenation.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=2&page=3&sortby=

Since this is hard coded in the ASP.NET dll file, I have NO WAY to change it.

Any suggestions?

Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 18 February 2010 at 8:21am

It's true that LinkFreeze can't deal with such links (<a href="?catid=2&page=1&sortby=">1</a>) as it don't even know what the file extension
is.
I dare say that SEO-friendliness in not that important for search pages, so maybe you'll consider excluding these pages from being processed
by LinkFreeze.

Or, if you do want them to be frozen, you may consider using Helicon Ape mod_linkfreeze module. Though it'll only work with Windows Server
2008.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Suxxen
Newbie


Joined: 17 February 2010
Posts: 13
Posted: 18 February 2010 at 9:31am

I may have to go into this code and hardcode those links.  Thanks!
Back to Top
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum