This forum has been moved here:
Helicon Tech Community Forum

Helicon Ape (Forum Locked Forum Locked)
 Helicon Tech : Helicon Ape
Subject Topic: Ape and ColdFusion problem
Author
Message |
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 20 February 2009 at 1:23pm

Hello. I've been using ISAPI_Rewrite (Lite) for a while with no problems. I uninstalled ISAPI and upgraded to try Ape today, and nothing seems to be working properly. I even started with a fresh website and new .htaccess file.

Here's what's happening.

I have a simple test rule:
Code:

# Helicon Ape version 1.0.0.14

RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^foo\.htm$ bar.cfm [NC,L]

bar.cfm is a simple page with only
Code:

<cfoutput>#Now()#</cfoutput>

in it. When the rule is met, and url is rewritten i get the following message:
Code:

The service is unavailable.

Server Error
Either the Macromedia application server(s) are unreachable or none of them has a mapping to process this request.


Under a normal circumstance, this would mean the Coldfusion server is rebooting or something. However, that's not the case. I can still serve up any other cfm page with no issue. This only happens when a page's url has been rewritten

Now, if I change the rule to
Code:

RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^foo\.htm$ bar.htm [NC,L]



It works no problem.

Server Specs:
Windows Server 2008 Web x86
IIS 7
ColdFusion 8 Enterprise

I'd appreciate any input.

This problem ONLY happens when rewriting to a .cfm page. Ape works fine when rewriting to any other extension (php, asp, htm)



Edited by Jason101 - 27 February 2009 at 10:32am
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 23 February 2009 at 8:00am

Probably you have your Application pool set to Classic mode. If this is the case, please consider putting it into Integrated mode.
If this is not the issue, please provide a copy of your ApplicationHost.config and IIS log for non-working request.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 23 February 2009 at 8:54am

Anton, Thanks for your reply. I did verify that the app pool is set to Integrated mode, but still have no success. 

IIS does not seem to be generating a log file for the failed request. I even deleted the log file to start fresh, and the log file is empty. But if I hit the page in question directly, there is no problem generating the page or log file.

I have provided links to the files you requested. (plus some others)

Thanks for your help.

ApplicationHost.conf
http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/applicationHost.config.txt

.htaccess
http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/htaccess.txt

http.conf
http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/httpd.conf.txt

Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 24 February 2009 at 8:08am

Please enable logging in Ape and provide rewrite and error log records for the non-working request.
Also please try to get IIS log. The records may appear with some delay, so not to wait you may just IISReset.
Can you please tell the exact version of ColdFusion you are using. By the way have you configured it manually or use out-of-the-box?
If possible show (or send to [email protected]) ColdFusion configuration file.



__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 24 February 2009 at 8:34am

Anton, Thanks for you continued help.

I could not get error logging to work.

In my httpd.conf (i've also tried it in .htaccess) i have:

Code:

Loglevel debug
ErrorLog "C:\error.log"


The log file is always empty I have even tried all levels for "LogLevel" and still get nothing. Even for successful requests it remains empty.

I was able to get the IIS log just like you said..it was delayed..

http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/IIS_Log.txt

I installed APE via the windows installer.

ColdFusion version is 8.0.1.195765
I'll try to work on getting CF Config in the meantime.

 
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 25 February 2009 at 6:00am

Concerning Helicon Ape error log: please check NTFS permissions for the
folder and the file.
Also please provide CF config and CF logs.
If possible, can you please install ISAPI_Rewrite Lite and make sure it works on your site.

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 25 February 2009 at 8:40am

Anton,

I did successfully install ISAPI_Rewrite Lite and using the same reqrite rule everything worked fine.

And for Ape..

I did verify permissions, and error logs are still not being written for Ape.

As far as coldfusion goes, I cleared all logs, and restarted app server, and no logs are being written for the failed request. I feel like the requests are not being handed off to the cf application server properly resulting in the error.

When I execute the page (bar.cfm) directly, a CF log file is written.

So because of the empty logs, i did not include them. But I did however include the jvm config and all relevent cf config files.

http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/ColdfusionConfigFiles.zip

Thanks again for your help.
Back to Top
 
Anton
Admin Group


Joined: 30 January 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 10519
Posted: 26 February 2009 at 4:16am

Unfortunately we can't identify your problem using your logs.
Your config works just fine in our testing environment.
Can you please provide terminal access to your server so that we could thoroughly look into the problems.
Please send any private info to [email protected]

__________________
Regards,
Anton
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 26 February 2009 at 10:03pm

Thanks Anton. I have sent all login information to [email protected] the email subject is "Re: Ape and ColdFusion problem"

Just out of curiosity, I setup a vmware server today to try to reproduce the problem, and I ran into the same exact issue on the fresh install.  I really hope you guys can figure this out because I really would like to use Ape.

Thanks again and look forward to hearing from you.
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 27 February 2009 at 2:26pm

Anton, support said they found nothing wrong, and claimed Ape worked. But as soon as I received the message, I checked for myself and it does not work. I think they thought it wasn't working all together.

It does not work for codlfusion requests only. All other requests such as php, aspx,htm, work fine.

I created a real short video with a demonstration of how ISAPI_Rewrite Lite works with coldfusion requests and APE doesn't

http://forum.jason101.sent.com/Files/HeliconTID11471/ape_video.avi

This video was taken on a fresh install of windows, coldfusion and ape. Even after a fresh install ape does not work with coldfusion requests.

I really want this to work becuase I would really like to use ape.
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 23 March 2009 at 8:48am

Support finally solved my problem a few weeks ago.
Support  claimed Ape worked fine on their ColdFusion install. However, I tried numerous fresh installes of ColdFusion using Adobe's default settings in the installer, and Apestill wouldn't work. Finally the problem was solved by chaning a few handler mappings. Basically, what needed to be changes is follows:

Any handler mappings for *.cfm extension, change the extension from run_iis6.dll to 1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll

If you have this problem, place this in your web.config in the root of your site:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<configuration>
    <system.webServer>
        <handlers>
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624719" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624718" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624716" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624717" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624715" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624715" path="*.cfm" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion8\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624717" path="*.cfc" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion8\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624716" path="*.cfml" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion8\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624718" path="*.cfr" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion8\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624719" path="*.cfswf" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion8\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
        </handlers>
    </system.webServer>
</configuration>


Thanks support (and Anton) for all your help.


Edited by Jason101 - 23 March 2009 at 8:50am
Back to Top
 
joled0
Newbie


Joined: 13 January 2010
Posts: 7
Posted: 18 January 2010 at 10:20am

How is the number portion derived for the name?

AboMapperCustom-82624719
Back to Top
 
dadonk
Newbie


Joined: 10 March 2010
Posts: 5
Posted: 14 March 2011 at 3:32pm

I'm having this problem with ColdFusion 9. Any suggestions on how to fix it?
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 14 March 2011 at 9:42pm

The above method will still work with Coldfusion 9. The only difference is, you'll need to change the paths to ColdFusion 9. So, make sure your web.config looks something like this.

Code:

<add name="AboMapperCustom-82624715" path="*.cfm" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624717" path="*.cfc" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624716" path="*.cfml" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624718" path="*.cfr" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624719" path="*.cfswf" verb="*" modules="IsapiModule" scriptProcessor="C:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildcard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script" responseBufferLimit="0" />



The number after the "AboMapperCustom" doesn't matter.

Let me know if you have any issues and I'll try to help.


Back to Top
 
dadonk
Newbie


Joined: 10 March 2010
Posts: 5
Posted: 14 March 2011 at 9:51pm

Ok, so here is my web.config, and it's still behaving the same way.

It's still giving me a file not found 404 for the path in the address bar

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<configuration>
    <system.webServer>
        <handlers>
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624719" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624718" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624716" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624717" />
            <remove name="AboMapperCustom-82624715" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624715" path="*.cfm"
verb="*" modules="IsapiModule"
scriptProcessor="D:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildc
ard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script"
responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624717" path="*.cfc" verb="*"
modules="IsapiModule"
scriptProcessor="D:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildc
ard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script"
responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624716" path="*.cfml"
verb="*" modules="IsapiModule"
scriptProcessor="D:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildc
ard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script"
responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624718" path="*.cfr" verb="*"
modules="IsapiModule"
scriptProcessor="D:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildc
ard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script"
responseBufferLimit="0" />
            <add name="AboMapperCustom-82624719" path="*.cfswf"
verb="*" modules="IsapiModule"
scriptProcessor="D:\ColdFusion9\runtime\lib\wsconfig\1\jrun_iis6_wildc
ard.dll" resourceType="Unspecified" requireAccess="Script"
responseBufferLimit="0" />
        </handlers>
    </system.webServer>
</configuration>
Back to Top
 
Jason101
Newbie


Joined: 20 February 2009
Posts: 9
Posted: 15 March 2011 at 8:46am

Sorry, I would have posted last night, but the forum was
telling me I was spamming.

Did you confirm that APE works with a non-cfm file? Much
like I did in Post #1?

I know the above method works with CF9 because I recently
setup a new cf9 testing server with APE and had the same
problem and resolved it using the above method, so you may
just have a configuration issue somewhere.
Back to Top
 

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This forum has been locked by a forum administrator.

Printable version Printable version